Luter names Committee on Committees

BALTIMORE (BP) -- Appointments to the Southern Baptist Convention's Committee on Committees have been announced by SBC President Fred Luter, pastor of Franklin Avenue Baptist Church in New Orleans. Luter announced the appointments in accordance with SBC Bylaw 19, which calls for providing notice to Southern Baptists of the appointees well in advance of each year's convention.

The Committee on Committees will assemble in Baltimore just prior to the SBC’s June 10-11 annual meeting to nominate members of the Committee on Nominations who, in turn, nominate trustees for the boards of SBC entities. SBC Bylaw 19 also provides that the Committee on Committees "shall nominate all special committees authorized during the sessions of the Convention not otherwise provided for."

The Committee on Committees has 68 members, two from each of the 34 states and regions qualified for representation on boards of SBC entities.

The president named Roc Collins, pastor of Indian Springs Baptist Church in Kingsport, Tenn., to serve as chairman of this year's Committee on Committees.

Committee members are:

ALABAMA -- Dennis Culbreth, First Baptist Church, Jasper; Bobby Burt, University Baptist Church, Huntsville

ALASKA -- Alan Dial, Upper Tanana Valley Regional Church, Tok; Gary Bearce, Pioneer Baptist Church, Wasilla

ARIZONA -- John Guillot, Green Valley Baptist Church, Green Valley; Bob Dodridge, CrossPoint Baptist Church, Tempe

ARKANSAS -- Gary Hollingsworth, Immanuel Baptist Church, Little Rock; Ronnie Parrott, Cross Church, Springdale

CALIFORNIA -- Randy Bennett, Daybreak Baptist Church, Bakersfield; Don Fugate, Foxworthy Avenue Baptist Church, San Jose

COLORADO -- Matthew Perry, Arapahoe Road Baptist Church, Centennial; Mike Atherton, Cornerstone Baptist Church, Lone Tree

FLORIDA -- Walter West, Anastasia Baptist Church, St. Augustine; Tommy Green, First Baptist Church, Brandon

GEORGIA -- Herman Parker, First Baptist Church, Bremen; Daniel Jack Lee, Altamaha Baptist Church, Jesup

HAWAII -- Vince Tabudlo, All Nations Fellowship, Honolulu; Michael Landry, Oceanview Baptist Church, Oceanview

ILLINOIS -- Mary Sue Jones, Tabernacle Baptist Church, Decatur; Doug Nguyen, Uptown Baptist Church, Chicago

INDIANA -- Chris Gustafson, Eastern Heights Baptist Church, Jeffersonville; Rick Hillard, Eastlake Baptist Church, Crown Point

KANSAS-NEBRASKA -- Jon Sapp, Western Hills Baptist Church, Topeka, Kan.; Abraham Arevalo, Casa de Dios, Wichita, Kan.

KENTUCKY -- Norman Brock, First Baptist Church, East Bernstadt; Roger Alford, Long Ridge Baptist Church, Owenton

LOUISIANA -- Jerilyn Johnston, First Baptist Church, Covington; James Jenkins, Baptist Bible Fellowship, Shreveport

MARYLAND-DELAWARE-D.C. -- Harold Phillips, Pleasant View Baptist Church, Port Deposit, Md.; David Griesemer, Landover Hills Baptist Church, Landover Hills, Md.

MICHIGAN -- Winford Williams, First Baptist Church, Brighton; Dan Russell, Calvary Baptist Church, Southgate

MISSISSIPPI -- Greg Warnock, First Baptist Church, Brookhaven; Jason Dukes, First Baptist Church, Booneville

MISSOURI -- Richard Biesiadecki, LifePointe Church, Wildwood; Charles McLain, First Baptist Church, Crystal City

NEVADA -- David Simpson, Green Valley Baptist Church, Henderson; Matthew Zamudio, South Reno Baptist Church, Reno

NEW ENGLAND -- John Revell, Stamford Baptist Church, Stamford, Conn.; John Scoggins, Nashua Baptist Church, Nashua, N.H.

NEW MEXICO -- Kathy Loudat, First Baptist Church of West Albuquerque, Albuquerque; Andrew Hebert, Taylor Memorial Baptist Church, Hobbs

NEW YORK -- Steve Allen, Bible Church International, Randolph; Frank Williams, Wake Eden Baptist Church, Bronx

NORTH CAROLINA -- Bobby Blanton, Lake Norman Baptist Church, Huntersville; J. Bartley Wooten, Beulaville Baptist Church, Beulaville

NORTHWEST -- Don Moor, Dayspring Baptist Church, Chehalis, Wash.; Adrian Hall, First Baptist Church, Beaverton, Ore.

OHIO -- Mark Stinson, Trinity Baptist Church, Cambridge; Nicole Strother, Central Baptist Church, Marion

OKLAHOMA -- Todd Parr, First Baptist Church, Broken Arrow; Kathy Franklin, Crossway First Baptist Church, Sulphur

PENNSYLVANIA/SOUTH JERSEY -- Philip Pham, Vietnamese Baptist Church, Philadelphia; Thomas Harris, Ezekiel Baptist Church, Philadelphia

SOUTH CAROLINA -- Alex Sands, Kingdom Life Christian Center, Greenville; Tommy Kelly, Varnville First Baptist Church, Varnville

TENNESSEE -- Roc Collins, Indian Springs Baptist Church, Kingsport (chairman); Scott Andrews, First Baptist Church, Sevierville

TEXAS -- Dalia Gonzales, Iglesia Bautista La Vid, Colleyville; Joe Davis, Church at the Cross, Grapevine

UTAH-IDAHO -- James Thompson, First Baptist Church, Provo, Utah; Pat Panagoplos, First Baptist Church, Roy, Utah

VIRGINIA -- Brad Russell, Old Powhatan Baptist Church, Powhatan; Kevin Cummings, Fincastle Baptist Church, Fincastle

WEST VIRGINIA -- Raymond Bouchoc, Baker Heights Baptist Church, Martinsburg; Kevin Belcher, Burke Memorial Baptist Church, Princeton

WYOMING -- Fred Creason, Boyd Avenue Baptist Church, Casper; Frances Irizarry, Iglesia Bautista Principe De Paz, Casper

Download Story