September 2, 2014
Luter names Committee on Committees
Posted on May 7, 2013 | by Staff

Email this Story

My Name*:
My Email*:
  Enter list of email recipients, one address per box
Recipient 1*
Recipient 2
Recipient 3
Recipient 4
Recipient 5
To fight spam-bots, we need to verify you're a real human user.
Please enter your answer below:
Who was the first man?
  * = Required Fields Close
HOUSTON, Texas (BP) -- Appointments to the Southern Baptist Convention's Committee on Committees have been announced by SBC President Fred Luter Jr.

The Committee on Committees will meet in Houston, Texas, just prior to the SBC annual meeting, June 11-12, to nominate members of the Committee on Nominations who, in turn, nominate trustees to serve on boards of the various entities of the SBC. SBC Bylaw 19 also provides that the Committee on Committees "shall nominate all special committees authorized during the sessions of the Convention not otherwise provided for."

The Committee on Committees encompasses 70 members, two from each of the areas served by the 35 state or regional conventions qualified for representation on boards of SBC entities.

Robert J. Anderson Jr., pastor of Colonial Baptist Church in Randallstown, Md., has been designated to serve as committee chairman.

Committee members are:

ALABAMA -- Chip Starnes, First Baptist Church, Bay Minette; Derek Staples, First Baptist Church, Jacksonville

ALASKA -- Ruby Stogsdill, First Baptist Church, Soldotna; Don Shannon, Sunset Hills Baptist Church, Anchorage

ARIZONA -- Debra Wolfrey, Pinnacle Church, Scottsdale; John Guillott, Green Valley Baptist Church, Green Valley

ARKANSAS -- Bill Bowen, Village Baptist Church, Bella Vista; 2nd member to be announced

CALIFORNIA -- A.B. Vines, New Seasons Church, Spring Valley; Deryl Lackey, Immanuel Baptist Church, Highland

COLORADO -- AnnaLee Stultz, Circle Drive Baptist Church, Colorado Springs; Tom Atkinson, Applewood Baptist Church, Wheat Ridge

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA -- Mike Rogers, First Baptist Church, Upper Marlboro, Md.; R.J. Sweetman, First Baptist Church, Upper Marlboro, Md.

FLORIDA -- Elizabeth Traylor, Olive Baptist Church, Pensacola; Michael Orr, First Baptist Church, Chipley

GEORGIA -- John Waters, First Baptist Church, Statesboro; Herman Parker, First Baptist Church, Bremen

HAWAII -- Stephen Kaneshiro, Valley Isle Fellowship, Wailuku; Josh Marburger, Pukalani Baptist Church, Makawao

ILLINOIS -- Noah Adams, Calvary Baptist Church, Elgin; Clifford Woodman, Emmanuel Baptist Church, Carlinville

INDIANA -- J.R. Hume, The Church at Newburgh, Newburgh; 2nd member to be announced

KANSAS-NEBRASKA -- Tom Edwards, First Baptist Church, Belle Plaine, Kan.; Voyt Lynn, First Baptist Church, Douglass, Kan.

KENTUCKY -- Ben Dockery, Vine Street Baptist Church, Louisville; Mark Payton, St. Paul Baptist Church at Shively Heights, Louisville.

LOUISIANA -- Merci Dixon, First Baptist Moss Bluff, Lake Charles; David Goza, Jefferson Baptist Church, Baton Rouge

MARYLAND-DELAWARE -- Bucas Sterling, Kettering Baptist Church, Clinton, Md.; Robert J. Anderson Jr., chair, Colonial Heights Baptist Church, Randallstown, Md.

MICHIGAN -- Justin Miller, Kaleo Church, Lansing; Scott Blanchard, Lakepoint, Chesterfield

MISSOURI -- Jeff Anderson, Calvary Baptist Church, Hannibal; Sandee Hedger, Freshwater Church, Jefferson City

MISSISSIPPI -- Ronnie Hatfield, First Baptist Church, Saltillo; Jim Phillips, North Greenwood Baptist Church, Greenwood

NORTH CAROLINA -- Rit Varriale, Elizabeth Baptist Church, Shelby; J. Bartley Wooten, Beulaville Baptist Church, Beulaville

NEW ENGLAND -- Steve Hankins, Seacoast Community Church, Portsmouth, N.H.; David Smith, Faith Baptist Church, Warwick, R.I.

NEW MEXICO -- Jay McCollum, First Baptist Church, Gallup; Jennings Hamilton, Calvary Baptist Church, Bloomfield

NORTHWEST -- William Crews, Northside Baptist Church, Camas, Wash.; Steve Schenewerk, Community Baptist Church, Winston, Ore.

NEVADA -- Donna Savage, Foothills Baptist Church, Las Vegas; Lawrence Haley, Calvary Southern Baptist Church, North Las Vegas

NEW YORK -- Cathy Meyer, Northside Baptist Church, Liverpool; 2nd member to be announced

OHIO -- Jeremy Westbrook, Living Hope Church, Marysville; Marvin Sands, Hillcrest Baptist Church, Carlisle

OKLAHOMA -- Scott Watkins, First Baptist Church, Terlton; Walter Wilson, Friendship Baptist Church, Lawton

PENNSYLVANIA-SOUTH JERSEY -- Ricky Wilson, Christian Faith Fellowship, Downingtown, Pa.; Darius Nable, Church of the Good Shepherd, Cherry Hill, N.J.

SOUTH CAROLINA -- David Bagwell, Neighborhood Church, Easley; J. Stuart Houston, Blue Ridge View Baptist Church, Pickens

TENNESSEE -- Melissa Gay, First Baptist Church, Hendersonville; Tim Gutrie, Arlington Baptist Church, Knoxville

TEXAS -- Rebekah Lightner, Southlake Baptist Church, Southlake; Keith Sanders, First Baptist Church, Keller

UTAH-IDAHO -- Richard Dugger, First Baptist Church, Bonners Ferry, Idaho; Brittany McNair, First Baptist West Valley City, Woods Cross, Utah

VIRGINIA -- Stewart McCarter, Southside Baptist Church, Suffolk; Milton Harding, Centreville Baptist Church, Centreville

WEST VIRGINIA -- Matthew Shamblin, North Charleston Baptist Church, Charleston; Jacob Atchley, The Church at Martinsburg, Martinsburg

WYOMING -- Dale Bascue, United Baptist Church, Riverton; Bill Morris, Monroe Avenue Baptist Church, Green River
Latest Stories
  • LABOR DAY: R.G. Lee steeled by Panama Canal 'rugged toil'
  • Platt looks ahead to mission challenges
  • FIRST-PERSON: 10 things we owe David Platt
  • Transcript: David Platt press conference
  • TRUSTEES: Rainer on 'headwinds of change'; LifeWay downtown property studied; 2% revenue gain projected
  • Fire survivors thankful for Baptist relief
  • Afghan family longs for hope and peace
  • 2nd VIEW: TRUSTEES: Funding for short-term workers, Mideast refugee crisis accompany Platt vote
  • CALL TO PRAYER: Keep asking in prayer
  • FIRST-PERSON: The increase of narcissism
  • FIRST-PERSON: 'Don't Labor in Vain Day'
  • EDITORIAL: Por tres pecados, y por el cuarto
  • Add Baptist Press to
    your news reader


     © Copyright 2014 Baptist Press. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use.

    Southern Baptist Convention