August 23, 2014
Committee on Nominations announced for 2006-07
Posted on Jun 14, 2006 | by Staff

Email this Story

My Name*:
My Email*:
  Enter list of email recipients, one address per box
Recipient 1*
Recipient 2
Recipient 3
Recipient 4
Recipient 5
To fight spam-bots, we need to verify you're a real human user.
Please enter your answer below:
What is the first book in the Bible?
  * = Required Fields Close
GREENSBORO, N.C. (BP)--Seventy Southern Baptists from 35 state Baptist conventions have been named to serve on the 2006 SBC Committee on Nominations.

The Committee on Nominations will nominate people to serve on the SBC's boards, commissions and committees. They will present their report to the 2007 SBC annual meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

The committee is made up of two people from each state convention -- one in church-related vocational work and one layperson.

In each case, the church vocational worker is listed first followed by the layperson, along with their church names. Committee on Nominations members are selected by the SBC Committee on Committees.

Alabama -- Thomas W. Fountain Sr., chairman, Southside Baptist, Opp; James E. McLendon, South Roebuck Baptist, Birmingham.

Alaska -- David Becker, First Baptist, Delta Junction; Colleen Cannon, First Baptist, Anchorage.

Arizona -- Cheryl Elder, Green Valley Baptist, Green Valley; Kent A. Tisdel, Northern Hills Community, Phoenix.

Arkansas -- Rob Davis, First Baptist, Harrison; C. Dale Stuart Jr., First Baptist, Centerton.

California -- Larry O’Neal Weatherly, Fairfax Southern Baptist, Bakersfield; Patsy Darnell, Castlewood Baptist, Vallejo.

Colorado -- Khris Kennedy, Center Point Baptist, Littleton; Za W. Johnson, Mt. Tabor Baptist, Byers.

District of Columbia -- Frank A. Porter, Hillcrest Baptist, Hillcrest Heights, Md.; Jason Townsend, Capitol Hill Baptist, Washington, D.C.

Florida -- Bruce Moore, Cross Pointe Baptist, Wesley Chapel; Susan Caddell, First Baptist, Eustis.

Georgia -- Thomas C.Humphries, Calvary Baptist, Austell; Charles Wellham, Beulah Baptist, Douglasville.

Hawaii -- Emerson Wiles, Waikoloa Baptist, Waikoloa; Walter Agena, Nuuanu Baptist, Honolulu.

Illinois -- Jerald W. Day, Pleasant Grove Baptist, Buncombe; Merrillyn Brookman, Wayne City Baptist, Wayne City.

Indiana -- Bob Bailey, Calvary Community, Utica; Rudolph Yakym II, New Life Baptist, Osceola.

Kansas/Nebraska -- Gail Phippen, Country Acres Baptist, Wichita; Dale Hancock, Hillside Baptist, Wichita.

Kentucky -- James William Ward, Hillvue Heights Baptist, Bowling Green; James M. Melloan, Yellow Creek Baptist, Owensboro.

Louisiana -- Larry B. Thompson, First Baptist, Westlake; Cathy Smart, Jefferson Baptist, Baton Rouge.

Maryland -- David Phillips, Mission Fellowship, Middletown, Del.; Barbara Grace, First Baptist of Perryville, Perryville, Md.

Michigan -- Richard Donald Ratts, The Orchard Church, Traverse City; Walter Stephens Jr., Middlebelt Baptist, Inkster.

Mississippi -- Jerry W. Lowery, Glenfield Baptist, New Albany; Bobby Roberts, First Baptist, Purvis.

Missouri -- Tom Willoughby, First Baptist, El Dorado Springs; Rick Powell, Oakwood Baptist, Kansas City.

Nevada -- John Mark Simmons, Highland Hills Baptist, Henderson; Kathryn Pruitt, First Baptist of Sparks, Sparks.

New England -- Richard Clegg, Grace Haven Baptist, Manchester; Julie Bascom, East Randolph Baptist, East Randolph.

New Mexico -- Bruce Baker, First Baptist, Belen; Walter Kelly Cregger, Immanuel Baptist, Milan.

New York -- Ed Hart, Living Water Baptist, Owego; Theresa Seeber, Colts Neck Baptist, Colts Neck.

North Carolina -- Brian K. Davis, Beulah Baptist, Statesville; Jim Hunnicutt, First Baptist, Garner.

Northwest -- Anthony Harris, Bible Fellowship Community, Vancouver; Joyce Powell, Chestnut Street Baptist, Ellensburg.

Ohio -- James Mayes, Lincoln Heights Baptist, Mansfield; Joel D. Macy, Northside Baptist, Springfield.

Oklahoma -- Griff Henderson, First Baptist, Newalla; Zeb Linston Brister Jr., Parkview Baptist, Tulsa.

Pennsylvania/South Jersey -- Jim Hess, Emmanuel Baptist, Elizabethtown, Pa.; Jim Lane, Chambersburg Baptist, Chambersburg, Pa.

South Carolina -- Michael Bearden, First Baptist, Fountain Inn; Leonard L. Brown Jr., Forestville Baptist, Greenville.

Tennessee - Jimmy Arms, Stevens Street Baptist, Cookeville; Glen Stophel, Brainerd Baptist, Chattanooga.

Texas -- Charles W. Haney Jr., Parkside Baptist, Denison; Nancy C. Rivera, Primera Iglesia Bautista, Grand Prairie.

Utah/Idaho -- Scott Hanberry, NorthStar, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho; David R. York, Holladay Baptist, Salt Lake City.

Virginia -- Vander Warner Jr., Beaverdam Baptist, Beaverdam; Curt Breland, First Baptist, Norfolk.

West Virginia -- Dan R. Jividen, Immanual Southern Baptist, Princeton; Wanda J. McConihay, West Ripley Southern Baptist, Ripley.

Wyoming -- Dave Stillie, First Southern Baptist, Rawlins; James Woody, Heart of the Valley Baptist, Mountain View.
Latest Stories
  • Israeli and Palestinian believers 'not void of hope' amid conflict
  • ERLC: Latest HHS rules fail again
  • 'I'm not angry,' lye victim's husband says, voicing 'absolute confidence in our God'
  • Resources for the fight against global hunger
  • VBS children see results of giving
  • 2nd VIEW: Ebola missionary points to faith in Christ after hospital release
  • CALL TO PRAYER: Cultivating a church's heart for the persecuted
  • FIRST-PERSON: How gay activism affects you
  • EDITORIAL: Cuida la Lengua; Santiago 3:1-9
  • Add Baptist Press to
    your news reader


     © Copyright 2014 Baptist Press. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use.

    Southern Baptist Convention